

First United Methodist Church 608 South Grandview DeWitt, Arkansas 72042 January 2019

Flease join us for a Bridal Shower honoring Courtney Carson & Bud Bisswanger

Saturday, January 5 10:30 - 12:00 pm

First United Methodist Church DeWitt, Arkansas



The bride and groom are registered at:

Dean's The Registry New Leaf Florist Bed, Bath, and Beyond





Harlyn Padgett sings Silent Night on Christmas Eve



Men's Community Prayer Breakfast

Wednesday, January 9 6:00 AM

Faith Baptist Church

725 McAdams Road DeWitt, Arkansas 946-1897

Camp Aldersgate Lawn Clean Up Day 2000 Camp Aldersgate Rd., Little Rock

Volunteers Needed Thursday, January 14 9:00 am—3:00 pm

Bro. LaVon Post, clean up coordinator

Social Activity Committee

Glenn Dale & Barbara Stroh and Steven & Suzanne Stroh,

Charles & Belvia Rodgers, Barbara Gunnell, Cole & Brittany Briggs, Steven & Emily Fisher, Lonnie & Jane Stoddard, Kay Whitcomb, Jarrad & Angela Stroh

OUR PRAYERS: Dixie Alter, Corita Boyd, Sherry Boyd, family of John Briggs, David Bussey, Sammy Cotner, Sam DeBerry, E.K. Dillion, Carla Dotson, George Dulin, Bytha Dulin, Mavis Ferguson, Clarence & Dottie Gunnell, Mark Jones, Paula Keffer, Bill Knoll, Michael Leyva, Steve Martin, Larry Martineau, Kay Mitchell, Gary Morris, Jeff Moyer, Carol Ann Nolley, Ken Norwood, JoAlla Nutt, Johnny Purdy, Donna Rasco, Sonya Rieves, Glenn & Barbara Stroh, Larry Thompson, Caroline Turner, Janet Vanderford, B. T. Wallace, Jack Williams





Chicken Noodle Luncheon Sunday, January 27 11:30 am

Hosts: January Social Committee Donations benefit the Landscape Fund Carryout's available

January Birthdays

Steve Bradley, Vicki Whiting (4) Ava Grace Ward (6) Joyce Allen, Ashley Fisher (7) Margie Rousseau, Dencie McIntosh (8) CW Simpson (9) John Alter (10) Marie Storey (12) Jimmy Boyd, Cathy Shepherd (13) Camron Mitchell (14) Joyce Lepine (15) Dorothy Currie (16) Edna Bennett (17) Deena Fisher (18) Jane Stoddard, Joan Bullock (21) Cody Bullock (22) Stephanie Bradley, Andrea Perry (23) Tami Strain, Dixie Alter (24) Dale Davis (26) Tyson Rawls (28) Bill Koen (29) Whitney Neal (30) Jake Essex (31)

The Loma Essex ministry is collecting Christmas card fronts for St. Jude's Ranch. There is a collection basket in the foyer by the office. Cards will be mailed on January 31. And as always, thank you for your continued support of the Loma Essex ministry.

Thank you everyone at DeWitt FUMC for a wonderful year. The one hundred and fiftieth and all the many things going on during Advent and Christmas. Thank you for all the beautiful cards and Christmas gifts to Barbara and I. We truly feel blessed to be in ministry here with this church family. May God bless each of you and be with us in this new year. Happy New Year!

Yours in Christ Tony and Barbara

Who's this girl?



This picture was found in a storage closet in the church. There is no name or date. If you know who she is, please solve the mystery!



608 South Grandview Drive DeWitt, Arkansas 72042-2329

Ph: 870-946-2328 Web site: dewittfumc.org Email: fumcdewitt@centurytel.net

2019 Administrative Council

Administrative Council Chair: T. Buie **Vice-Chair:** Warren Jennings, Jr.

Lay Leader (& Alternate Member of Annual Conf.) John Schallhorn

Lay Member of Annual Conference: Jess V. Essex

Recording Secretary: Tammy DeBerry

Finance Committee: Chair: Dean Bell

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Park EldridgeBrad KoenBarbara RodgersDean BellTabatha RodgersJerry Lynne Staton

Cooper Essex Norma Jean Counce Shane Fisher

Lay Leader: John Schallhorn Admin. Council Chair: T. Buie Trustee Chair: Christina Boyd

Minister: Tony Hill

Treasurer: Gena Jennings
Assistant Treasurer: Barbara Rodgers
PPRC Chair: Heath Holbert
Stewardship Chair: Gary Hudson

Trustee Committee: Chair: Christina Boyd

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Dale DavisWhitney NealChristina BoydSam DeBerryDuane LongTabatha RodgersCarl CrawleyChris CounceLaura Essex

Property Committee Chair: Duane Long

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Chris CounceJoe O'DellJoel RawlsWill StoreyJimmy BoydMatt StubblefieldJohn SchallhornGary PadgettJohn Neukam

Pastor Parish Relations CommitteeDeWitt Chair: Heath HolbertClass of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021

T. Buie Heath Holbert Sue Currie
Cole Briggs Kelli Koen Robert Franks
Charles Rodgers Bob Bisswanger Jerry Rodgers

St. Charles Chair: Sharon Young **Lay Leader:** John Schallhorn

Lay Member of Annual Conference: Jess Essex/ Robert Patrick

Evangelism Committee Chair: Laura Essex

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Sarah StoreyMike MerrittAnn FlyMarjorie JenkinsRobin PattilloCarla O'DellBelvia RodgersLou Cree SchallhornRachel Mitchell

Minister: Tony Hill

Mission Committee Chair: Terri Patton

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Joyce LepineMike MerrittJean PrangeMarilyn BraswellAnn FlyBelvia RodgersTerri PattonJean PrangeCheryl Hornbeck

Education Committee Chair: Carla Walton

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Paige PattersonDiana MerrittTrisha RawlsMeagan PadgettWhitney NealDeena FisherBrittany BriggsCarla WaltonAmy Neukam

Worship Committee Chair: Traci Davis

 Class of 2019
 Class of 2020
 Class of 2021

 Sarah Storey
 Laura Essex
 Carla Walton

 Marjorie Jenkins
 Kortney Counce
 Diana Merritt

 Heath Holbert
 Traci Davis
 Hannah Stubblefield

Ushers: Gary Padgett & Shan Rodgers **Acolyte Coordinator:** Kortney Counce **Flowers:** Tammy DeBerry & Marjorie Jenkins

Membership Committee Chair: Marilyn Braswell

Class of 2019Class of 2020Class of 2021Cooper EssexMargaret CazortBarbara Gunnell

Sarah Storey Cathy Shepherd

Stewardship Committee Chair: Gary Hudson

Stephanie Bradley Gary Hudson Dean Bell LouCree Schallhorn Robert Franks Cathy Shepherd

Parsonage Committee Chair: Barbara Rodgers

Belvia Rodgers Debbie Briggs Duane Long Marilyn Braswell

Barbara Rodgers Barbara Hill Marjorie Jenkins

Monthly Social Activity Committee

Tri-Coordinators: Amy Holbert, Carla O'Dell, & LouCree Schallhorn

Landscape Committee Shelia Patterson & Barbara Rodgers, co-chairs
Marilyn Braswell Dottie Gunnell Shelia Patterson

LouCree Schallhorn Ann Fly Carla O'Dell Barbara Rodgers Glenn Dale Stroh Joan Bullock

Transportation Committee: (church van maintenance)

Robert Franks Lonnie Stoddard John Currie Matt Stubblefield Joel Rawls Duane Long

Nomination Committee: Chair: Minister: Tony Hill

Vice-Chair/Lay Leader:John Schallhorn

Class of 2019
Class of 2020
Class of 2021
Sheila Patterson
Sarah Storey
John Schallhorn
Robert Franks
Duane Long
Sue Currie

Sunday School Superintendent: Sarah Storey **Mature Methodists:** Diana Merritt **Communications:** Stephanie Bradley Web Master-Photographer: Jimmy Fly **District Steward:** John Schallhorn **United Methodist Men: Chris Counce Historian:** Stephanie Bradley **UMY Leader: Kortney Counce**



CHURCH STAFF

Bishop

Rev. Gary E. Mueller

Southeast District Superintendent

Rev. Mark K. Norman

Minister

Rev. Tony Hill

Choir Director & Organist

Mrs. Marjorie M. Jenkins

Pianist

Mrs. Debbie M. Briggs

Church Secretary

Mrs. Sarah J. Storey

Youth Sponsors

Kortney Counce

Treasurer

Mrs. Gena M. Jennings

Buildings & Property

Mr. Duane Long

Webmaster & Photographer

Mr. Jimmy Fly

Childcare Attendant

Ms. Leslie Rone

Custodians

Ms. Diane Fisher Mr. Will Storey

Fellowship Calendar

Tues, Jan 1: Church office closed Sun, Jan 13: 9:30 am Sunday School

Courtney Carson & Bud Bisswanger

McAdams Road Church

10:30 am Worship

10:30 am Worship

Sun, Jan 20: 9:30 am Sunday School

10:30 am Worship

Sun, Jan 27: 9:30 am Sunday School

10:30 am Worship

11:30 am Chicken Noodle Luncheon

First United Methodist Church

608 South Grandview Drive DeWitt, Arkansas 72042-2329 www.dewittfumc.org

Our Mission:

Jesus said, "Go, and make disciples of all nations..."

Matthew 28: 18-20.

Founded 1868